Vanish – Sophie Jordan

1
1632

An impossible romance.

Bitter rivalries.

Deadly choices.

To save the life of the boy she loves, Jacinda did the unthinkable: She betrayed the most closely-guarded secret of her kind. Now she must return to the protection of her pride knowing she might never see Will again—and worse, that because his mind has been shaded, Will’s memories of that fateful night and why she had to flee are gone.

Back home, Jacinda is greeted with hostility and must work to prove her loyalty for both her sake and her family’s. Among the few who will even talk to her are Cassian, the pride’s heir apparent who has always wanted her, and her sister, Tamra, who has been forever changed by a twist of fate. Jacinda knows that she should forget Will and move on—that if he managed to remember and keep his promise to find her, it would only endanger them both. Yet she clings to the hope that someday they will be together again. When the chance arrives to follow her heart, will she risk everything for love?

In the sequel to Firelight, Jacinda is now back with her Pride, where she is being shunned from the rest of her community. Mysterious events surround her sister, and Jacinda is afraid that Will will not remember her after being shaded. Her mother is being over worked and is turning into a recluse and an alcoholic. Life is not going the way Jacinda planned.

What you probably cannot tell from my very short description of Vanish is that a lot actually happens throughout the book. So, why is my description so short? Well, not much really happens during the first 100 pages. Things start happening after that, but I feel, at that point, you guys might want to be a little surprised. I know that I would.

I had very strong issues with this book. While I enjoyed the first book, Firelight, I found that this book targeted a lot of my triggers and attracted my feminist side. For almost all of this book, men were in charge and women had little to no say in the events that surrounded their lives. There were several things brought up in this book that hinted at rape. For example, the Pride leader, Severin, basically told Jacinda that he would force people on her in order to get some little fire breathing dragons born. Every time that this was brought up (and it happened often), I instantly thought of gang rape. I was not ok with this being in a young adult book, and I would have appreciated some warning, as it stirred up a lot of bad things inside of me. I rarely ever have this strong of an emotion about a book, but I had a really hard time finishing it.

While I liked Will in the first book, I couldn’t stand him in Vanish. He reminded me a lot of Shay from Andrea Cremer’s Nightshade series. Those of you who have read my reviews of the Nightshade series know how offensive I found Shay’s character to be. Thankfully, Will did not have very many scenes in Vanish, but he really bothered me whenever he was introduced.

Jacinda lost the spark that she had during Firelight. She became very depressed, and I’m honestly shocked that she didn’t try and commit suicide at some point during the book. Cassian even mentioned that she should be on suicide watch, and I completely agreed with him. Her character was not setting a good example for all of the young, impressionable girls out there. Just because you’re not with the guy you want to be with does not mean that your life is at an end. Let’s be honest, if you’re a teenager, you’re probably not going to stay with the guy you’re with forever. You will move on even if you don’t think that’s possible yet.

Jacinda’s mother also really got on my nerves. In the first book, the mom had her mind set to kill off Jacinda’s draki. Even though I was very angry with her for doing what she did to Jacinda, I understood and appreciated that she was strong. She had the strength to save her girls, to make safe arrangements for them, etc. She lost all of her strength in the second book. The mom basically went to work for two shifts, came home, didn’t eat dinner and went to bed with some alcohol. She barely even communicated with her girls, and I’m honestly surprised she survived the whole story.

Overall, I did not like this book at all. It really targeted a lot of triggers, which I did not appreciate. Fans of Kelley Armstrong, Andrea Cremer, and Nina Berry will definitely enjoy the first book, Firelight, but I honestly cannot bring myself to recommend this book.

Pages: 294

Publication Date: September 6, 2011

Publisher: HarperTeen

Rating: [rating:1]

 

Teaser Quote: “Her gossamer wings snap behind her, the jagged tips peeking above her silvery shoulders.”

Comments are closed.