Uninvited (Uninvited #1) – Sophie Jordan

0
2862

4fdd6f816b124ee595f6fb07a25a134e

13645645The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

 

I’m writing this review in October, and it’s absolutely KILLING me that it’s going to be exactly three months until you all can read this review. It’s taking all my self control not to just post it now, but I shall refrain myself. Uninvited was way better than I expected it to be. It was fast paced, heart pounding, and emotional. Not only that, but it was wayyyyy cool! I was hooked from the very first chapter, and I soared through it within just a couple of days.

The best way to describe this book is by part one and part two. Part one of Uninvited was 5 stars. The writing was just so gorgeous. It also had this gritty, down to earth feel to it that really resonated with me. Not only that, but ok…..the first part of this book is really emotional. I would find myself trying not to bawl my eyes out during several parts of it. The characters were so intense, so real, that everything that happened to them really struck a chord inside of me. I only wish that every book could be as amazing as the first part of Uninvited.

The second part of Uninvited was still really good, but it was also a lot different than part one. I actually found myself thinking quite a few times that they didn’t really seem to be two parts of the same book. It was definitely an unpredictable second half, but I was left wanting a little more from it. I really wanted to see more of that edginess that I felt in the first part of the book.

The characters in Uninvited were spot on. And..omg…Sean?! Hoooooooooly cow! Was that boy hot or what?! I can definitely say that I have a new book crush. I wish that there would have been a few more scene between him and Davy. I liked that the book wasn’t insta-lovey and didn’t include any love triangles, but I did want to see a little more heat. When it came down to the supporting characters, I was really impressed at how all of them had their own individual makeup. Everyone was unique, which really added to the book itself. I’m really excited to watch all those characters grow in the next book.

On a negative note, I wasn’t sold with the HTS (killing gene) concept. There were quite a few flaws in it that kind of bugged me. Not so much during the first part of the book, but it started to bother me during the second half of the book. I thought that there was a lot that wasn’t mentioned or explained very well. I just seen holes all over that concept. Here’s my thing. I like the killing gene concept. However, it didn’t seem to really exist. It seemed like everyone with HTS was a normal human being with the ability to kill under stress. Big deal, anyone has that ability. I wanted to see something a little more special about the HTS carriers. Maybe unique fighting skills, special powers, or a crazy bloodlust that crept up on them when they got too mad. I didn’t really understand why everyone was afraid of them, because it didn’t seem like it was very hard to control or contain them. So, that was a pretty big flaw for me, and that’s actually what bumped it down to a 4 instead of a 5.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. The ending felt a little rushed, and I would have liked to see more of a clean cut finale, but I’m still really excited to read the next book. Of course, I probably have to wait like another year and a half until I can. I would recommend that everyone go out and read this book! It comes out tomorrow [=

 

Pages: 384

Publication Date: January 28th, 2014

Publisher: Harper Teen

Source: ARC provided by publisher

Rating: [rating: 4]