The Lovely and the Lost (The Dispossessed #2) by Page Morgan

5
5169

unnamed

17924944

About the Book

Title: THE LOVELY AND THE LOST

Author: Page Morgan

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Pub. Date: May 13, 2014

Pages: 368

Find it: AmazonBarnes & NobleGoodreads

For readers of Lauren Kate’s Fallen series comes the sequel to The Beautiful and the Cursed, The Lovely and the Lost finds the Waverly sisters in mortal danger and able to trust no one.

Ingrid and Gabby Waverly moved to France expecting a quiet reprieve from London gossip, but the truth they face in their new home has a sharper—and deadlier—sting.

Paris is plagued by an underworld of demons and gargoyles who all seem to want something from the Waverly girls. Saving Ingrid’s twin, Grayson, from the fallen angel Axia nearly killed them. And they’re still being hunted—only this time, demons aren’t their only predators.

Ingrid’s blood is special: it bestows the power to command gargoyles. It’s an ability no other human has, and in the wrong hands, it could be used to send her cursed guardian, Luc, and his fellow Dispossessed to extinction. There are those who will do anything to get Ingrid’s blood—and they see no value in human life.

The Alliance has vowed to protect the Waverlys, and a new gargoyle has been assigned to guard their abbey home alongside Luc. But no one can watch over Ingrid, Gabby, and Grayson all the time—which means the three must learn to fight for themselves.

Because darkness follows the Waverlys. And sometimes darkness comes in the form you trust the most.

 

My Review:

My heart…I just…I don’t….I can’t….How do I explain this book in words? And that ending? THAT ENDING?! Oh my goodness.

The Lovely and the Lost is the sequel to The Beautiful and the Cursed. It occurs fairly soon after the ending of the first book, with Ingrid and Gabby both training for the Alliance and honing powers. There are also some new characters and relationships introduced, such as Gabby and Ingrid’s father.

Page Morgan’s writing is so exceptionally well done. I honestly think that’s what makes this series so amazing. I say that because I’m really not the biggest fan of historical fiction. I often find it stuffy and obviously outdated, but Page Morgan brings life to every aspect of these books. More specifically, Morgan creates characters with such life and such passion that it’s almost impossible to not fall in love with them. Honestly, her characters are some of my all time favorite characters.

Of course I have to give a major shout out to my favorite couple of all time, Gabby and Nolan. Oh how they stole my heart all over again in this book! However, I do wish that they had just a few more scenes to themselves in this book. I felt a little robbed ]= HOPEFULLY they have more face time in the third book. AND THAT ENDING? YOU BETTER FIX THAT, PAGE!

And then there was Ingrid and Luc and Grayson and Chelle. Seriously, I could just talk about these relationships for hours. I’m so invested in all of these characters. It honestly just feels like my heart is breaking over and over and over again because I want everything to be perfect for them. All of the characters were pure perfection.

The reason that I docked The Lovely and the Lost a star was because there were some moments that were teetering on the edge of boring. Now, I’m not saying that this book was boring, because it wasn’t. However, there were some moments that I wished things would speed up a bit. I also can see why some people might have trouble getting into it. Personally, I’m not one of those people. I love this series.

What I loved about this book was that there were so many things that happened that I didn’t expect to happen. This book is definitely not predictable or cliché. There were several times that my mouth just dropped open and I stared wide eyed at the page in front of me. For example, there’s this one scene toward the end that I was like HOLY SHIT. ARE YOU SERIOUS. I didn’t see it coming AT ALL. There were also a couple things that happened in this book where I was like NOOOOOOO. Sad moments ]=

The ending of The Lovely and the Lost was absolutely heart breaking for more than one reason. I’m going to be strong and not give away anything but be prepared for your heart to break into several hundred itty bitty pieces. And then be prepared to mourn for days. And THEN be prepared to be absolutely devastated when you realize that you probably have to wait about another year for the third book. That’s about the sequence that it will happen.

If you haven’t read the Dispossessed series by Page Morgan, then you’re seriously missing out. DO SO. READ THIS SERIES. You won’t be disappointed!

 

Pages: 368

Publication Date: May 13th, 2014

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Rating: [rating: 4]

 

About Page:

Page Morgan

I’m the author of The Beautiful & The Cursed, a young adult novel about two sisters who, on their mission to find their missing brother, discover a veiled world of gargoyles and demons in the city of Paris. I’m currently writing the second and third novels in this series, which saps most of my brainpower. I live in New England with my husband and our three children, along with our ancient dog and arrogant cat, quickly sap the rest of it. I accept virtual gifts of coffee, chocolate, and cupcakes.
Website  |  Blog | Facebook  | Twitter  | Pinterest Goodreads

Giveaway Details:

1 signed paperback of THE BEAUTIFUL & THE CURSED and a signed hardcover of THE LOVELY & THE LOST plus signed swag (US Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Tour Schedule

 

Week One

5/12/2014– Dark Faerie Tales– Guest Post

5/13/2014– Alice Marvels – Guest Post

5/14/2014– Lili’s Reflections– Review

5/15/2014– Book Swoon– Review

5/16/2014– Fiktshun– Interview Luc

Week Two

5/19/2014– Bookhounds YA– Review

5/20/2014– YaReads– Review

5/21/2014– Tales of the Ravenous Reader– Interview

5/22/2014– Two Chicks on Books– Guest Post-Nolan

5/23/2014– Refracted Light Reviews– Interview

 

 

Comments are closed.