Teaser Tuesday: The Ward by Jordana Frankel

3
1442

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading!

To participate all you have to do is:

Grab your current read

Open to a random page

Share “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page

BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS!

(make sure what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

 

Today’s teaser comes from The Ward by Jordana Frankel

Release Date: April 30th, 2013

 Published by: Katherine Tegan Books

12399857

Sixteen-year-old Ren is a daredevil mobile racer who will risk everything to survive in the Ward, what remains of a water-logged Manhattan. To save her sister, who is suffering from a deadly illness thought to be caused by years of pollution, Ren accepts a secret mission from the government: to search for a freshwater source in the Ward, with the hope of it leading to a cure.

However, she never expects that her search will lead to dangerous encounters with a passionate young scientist; a web of deceit and lies; and an earth-shattering mystery that’s lurking deep beneath the water’s rippling surface.

Jordana Frankel’s ambitious debut novel and the first in a two-book series, The Ward is arresting, cinematic, and thrilling—perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld or Ann Aguirre.

Aven’s knees buckle; she collapses onto Derek’s side. I watch as her eyes roll back in their sockets, leaving only white behind.

“Aven?” I choke out.

The panic in my stomach detonates. Shock waves rock my body. I can’t breathe, there’s nothing for me to breathe. It’s as though I’m back in the Strait, ice water flooding my lungs, numbing ever muscle and bone from the outside in. (149-150.)

I’m pounding against the glass, now wishing it would crack. Water splashes inside the mobile, all around me. Grimy, icy slush finds my mouth. I close my eyes, struggling to get out through the roof, pushing against it. My Rimbo drops into the sunken city. I open my eyes despite the cold and the water. Beyond the roof, giant-sized buildings loom, towers of brick with the windows crashed in. I can’t stop looking- I can’t stop trying.

It takes less than a minute for the water to reach my neck. (51.)

Comments are closed.