Storm – Brigid Kemmerer

0
2005

Becca Chandler is suddenly getting all the guys all the ones she doesn’t want. Ever since her ex-boyfriend spread those lies about her. Then she saves Chris Merrick from a beating in the school parking lot. Chris is different. Way different: he can control water just like his brothers can control fire, wind, and earth. They’re powerful. Dangerous. Marked for death.

And now that she knows the truth, so is Becca.

Secrets are hard to keep when your life’s at stake. When Hunter, the mysterious new kid around school, turns up with a talent for being in the wrong place at the right time, Becca thinks she can trust him. But then Hunter goes head-to-head with Chris, and Becca wonders who’s hiding the most dangerous truth of all.

The storm is coming

 

Becca Chandler’s life is far from perfect. She’s been labeled the school slut, and she’s made fun of on a constant basis. So, she decided to take a self defense class in order to protect herself from some of the guys who have been bothering her in and outside of school. Little did she know that she would have to use those self defense skills the night she learned them, saving Chris Merrick’s life.

Chris Merrick is from a family of Elementals. His particular power? Water. When Becca pours water on his face the night that a couple of guys are kicking his ass, things spiral out of control. Now the villains believe that Becca is also an elemental, and they will do everything in their power to kill them both. Becca is completely clueless about the powers that inhabit her little town, but she’s going to have to catch on real fast.

I absolutely fell in love with Storm from the very first page. I normally don’t like books that have a male and female perspective, but I really enjoyed it. The characters were amazing. Becca, ohmygosh, she was so brave and strong and all of those other words that I can throw at her. The Merrick brothers were so gorgeous. Funny enough, Chris was my least favorite brother..which says a lot since I really enjoyed his character. But it wasn’t just the main characters who made this story. Becca’s best friend Quinn and her boyfriend Rafe were such excellent side characters. They were so realistic that I was never disappointed with what was going on, and they really added to the overall story line. Seth and Tyler, the “bad guys”, were also so strong. They were the villains, so a part of me disliked them, but I also appreciate them for adding to the story.

What was fascinating about Storm was that it wasn’t strictly a fantasy/paranormal book. Instead, it leaned mostly towards contemporary. If you follow my reviews, or even follow me on twitter, you know how much I dislike most contemporary books. I find them boring and super depressing…they’re just not my thing. What I found out in Storm, though, was that it didn’t bother me at all. Thinking back on it, I think I would have been really disappointed if that contemporary story line wasn’t placed into the book. It made it so beautiful and strong. It was such a great addition to the book and the characters.

Storm focused on so many strong issues for me. One major topic in this book was bullying. Becca had been accused of sleeping around with the entire soccer team, and she was constantly picked on, put down, and made fun of. I often found my jaw dropping or tears welling up in my eyes (something that I NEVER do!). Kemmerer did such a great job of portraying what bulling really looks like. I hope that when people read this book they really think about some of the actions that were occurring. Bullying is a really big, really real thing that goes on in schools, work places, and in general every day life. It’s important for people to read about it and witness it  so that they can step up and stop it. You have a voice. Use it.

Another major topic in this book was rape. Now, rape is a really strong issue for me, and I found it really difficult to read those scenes. They don’t go in depth, but it felt so real that it was hard to keep the book in my hands. At first I was angry that that was pushed on me without warning. After I thought about it, though, I realized that it could give some people a really good message. These things do happen. Rape and bullying occur on a daily basis, and I have to give it up to Kemmerer for being able to write about these subjects without being offensive or unrealistic.

Storm also brings up the topic of divorce and parent’s who just up and leave their family. Becca’s dad infuriated me from the moment he stepped back into the picture. I was kind of hoping for a bigger throw down between Becca and her dad. Maybe I’ll get to see that later on? I’ve somewhat experienced what Becca went through involving her parent’s, and I just wanted to step inside that book and punch him where it hurts. It made me mad.

My only complaint with this book is that I guessed who the Guardian was right away. Therefore, there were no big shockers at the end, because I’d already guessed it. The last few chapters also seemed a little rushed. Storm is a big book, so I felt that there should have been a little more time dedicated to the ending chapters. However, I loved the rest of the book so much, that I can’t think of anything that I would want to be removed for that added time.

One thing I really did like, though, was that the relationship between Becca and Chris was not automatic. I actually wasn’t sure who she was going to end up with, Hunter or Chris. Their relationship was hesitant and cute, and they had limited interaction for large portions of the book. Unfortunately, I fell in love with Hunter. Thankfully, I’m pretty sure that Kemmerer is writing a book on Hunter. Fans of Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series will fall. in. love. I’m talking head over heels. Why? Because Hunter was almost a identical twin to Adrian Ivashkov.  I could have simply read about him all day long. His twist didn’t surprise me either, but I could have cared less. It only mattered that he was in the story.

I loved Storm so much, and I am so excited to pick up the next book in the series, Spark. The next book features Gabriel, my second favorite brother, and I am really stoked to read his story. I would be shocked if I didn’t like Spark more than Storm, due to the fact that I like Gabe better than Chris. I placed Brigid Kemmerer on hold for so long, because I didn’t think I would give her books more than 3 stars. She proved me wrong. This is one of my favorite series of the year.

 

Pages: 407

Publication Date: April 24, 2012

Publisher: K-Teen

Resource: ARC

Rating: [rating: 4.5]

 

Teaser Quote: “So let me get this straight.”… “He threw the note at Tommy and then told him to fuck off? Or do I have it backwards?”
“I’m detecting some sarcasm.”
“And then got himself sent the principal’s office because he was ready to defend your honor?”
“Quinn.”
“Her friend waved a hand. “No, I think you might be on to something. This is clearly an elaborate plot to screw with you. He asks you out, he defends you from that meathead—what next?” Quinn’s eyes flashed wide in mock surprise. “Crap, Bex, do you think he will do something truly horrible like buy you flowers?”