Hearts at Stake (Drake Chronicles #1) Alyxandra Harvey

1
3433

6708137The Drakes are rather different to your usual neighbours. They are vampires and some of the members of the family date back to the twelfth century. One of the children, Solange, is the only born female vampire known and, as such, she poses a direct threat to the vampire queen. Her best friend Lucy is human, and when Solange is kidnapped Lucy and Solange’s brother, Nicholas, set out to save her. Lucy soon discovers that she would like to be more than just friends with Nicholas. But how does one go about dating a vampire? Meanwhile, Solange finds an unlikely ally in Kieran, a vampire slayer on the hunt for his father’s killer.

 

Hearts at Stake started out really cute. It’s a unique twist on a vampire story that really details the bonds of friends and family. Those relationships really helped to strengthen the book and make the characters more likable. I also really enjoyed the galmance? between Solange and Lucy. You don’t see a lot of books focus on female friendship. I found it refreshing.

Having 2 POVs worked in some areas of this book and tanked in others. Like I said, I enjoyed reading about the girls’ relationship, but I kind of thought that it was too much having both of their voices in one tiny book. I would have preferred that it focus on one girl and have the other once included. It was also a little confusing for me, because I wasn’t the biggest fan of Solange. I loved Lucy and Nick, but I just never hooked on to Solange and Kiernan. Having 2 POVs also made it difficult to fully enjoy either romance. It made it a little choppy and hard to follow in some areas.

About halfway through the book it started to get really cheesy. Alyxandra Harvey has this habit of writing books geared more toward middle grade readers. That can be a bit off putting since this is clearly labeled for young adult readers. While this is a book that I enjoyed, I more see myself handing this one off to one of my fifth graders. I think they would adore it!

Overall, I did really like this one. I thought that it was a cute, PG13 read that younger readers will really enjoy. I could see myself reading the rest of the books later on, but I don’t think that’s something I’m going to jump on right away. Fans of Richelle Mead and Lili St. Crow should enjoy this series!

 

Pages: 248

Publication Date: December 22nd, 2009

Publisher: Walker Childrens

Rating: [rating: 3]

 

Teaser Quote: “What got you through?” I whispered. “Do you remember?”
He nodded but wouldn’t look at me. When he didn’t elaborate, I turned to face him. “What? Is it a secret? Don’t I know all the Drake secrets by now?”
He shifted uncomfortably. “I guess”
“What then?”
“You”
I swallowed, stunned. “Me?”
“Yeah” He stood up and went to the door, where he paused for the barest second. “You got me through”.” 

Comments are closed.