Born Wicked (Cahill Witch Chronicles #1) – Jessica Spotswood

3
2154

13590839A gorgeous, witchy, romantic fantasy by a debut author! Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and the Beautiful Creatures series!

Everybody thinks Cate Cahill and her sisters are eccentric. Too pretty, too reclusive, and far too educated for their own good. But the truth is even worse: they’re witches. And if their secret is discovered by the priests of the Brotherhood, it would mean an asylum, a prison ship–or an early grave. Then Cate finds her mother’s diary, and uncovers a secret that could spell her family’s destruction. Desperate to find alternatives to their fate, Cate starts scouring banned books and questioning rebellious new friends, all while juggling tea parties, shocking marriage proposals, and a forbidden romance with the completely unsuitable Finn Belastra. But if what her mother wrote is true, the Cahill girls aren’t safe–not even from each other.

 

I ended up buying Born Wicked at B&N with my birthday money. I was on the lookout for a book about witches. For some reason, witch books are really hard for me to find in the YA genre. If I want an adult paranormal witch book, then there’s absolutely no problem. Let’s be honest, most of the popular ones are about witches and vampires. But with YA? I have the biggest problem. So, I was really excited when I saw Born Wicked tucked away in a remote area of the shelf. I knew that I had to read this book. I ended up putting another book away just so I could get this book even.

When I first started reading Born Wicked, I was bored. I didn’t dislike it, but I didn’t love it. The main reason for this was because it is a historical fiction book, and I tend to not like those….pretty much because I find them very boring. About halfway through the book, though, I started to realize that I was in love with it. Yes, it’s a book that leans on the milder side, but it’s so good! There’s not a lot of action, although there is some, but…omg…I loved this book.

Another bright side about Born Wicked was that all of the characters were loveable, relatable and enjoyable. I often found myself telling Cate what she needed to do. It didn’t matter that she couldn’t hear me! It’s NOT just a book! I was placing myself in that setting and demanding that she do the right thing…well…what I wanted her to do! Didn’t so much work, but it’s always awesome when you can place yourself IN the book. That doesn’t happen with every book.

I loved loved LOVED that Born Wicked surrounds three sisters. Not only did I love the idea, but I really enjoyed the sisters. And shockingly enough, Cate isn’t my favorite sister. Actually, she’s my least favorite. I’m in love with Tess. I am seriously going to yell at Jessica Spotswood if she ever ends up killing her off. OMG and at the end of the book! Holy smokes, Tess! Way to go girl!

The romance in Born Wicked is very tame and mild. It does exists, but it’s not forced on to you. And there’s a slight love triangle…but not really. It’s not that Cate’s torn between two guys…she just has some really big decisions to make for herself and her family. Normally, I love really heavy romances, but the romance in this book worked. I think that it will be jacked up in the second book…maybe?….but I really enjoyed it.

I don’t know what else to tell you guys except that this book is awesome and you need to go read it! It is SO GOOD. I’m so excited to read Star Cursed next…OMG…LOVED IT!

 

Pages: 352

Publication Date: January 8th, 2013

Publisher: Speak

Rating: [rating: 4]

Comments are closed.