Book Review: Midnight Bites: Stories of the Morganville Vampires (The Morganville Vampires) by Rachel Caine


midnight bitesNew York Times bestselling author Rachel Caine presents a collection of stories—including six new tales—featuring the little Texas town that’s overrun by the undead.

By day, Morganville, Texas, is just a typical college town. By night, the vampires emerge and take control….

In a town where it’s not safe to be out after dark, student Claire Danvers and her friends have had their fair share of thrills. But Morganville still has a few secrets left to tell.

Now, in this collection, you can venture down the town’s strange streets, revisit all the tales you’ve come to love, and experience six new stories featuring your favorite Morganville residents—both human and vampire…


My Review:

Wow……just wow. It has been a LONG time since I’ve visited Morganville. It’s probably been eight or nine years since I first started reading this series. Not to make myself sound old or anything…

With it being SO long since I’ve read the Morganville books, I will admit that some of these stories confused me. I didn’t automatically remember who everyone was and what was going on. If that’s something that’s really going to bother you, I would highly suggest either re-reading the books or at least skimming over them. Some of you probably remember everything that happened and who everyone was. Others are going to have a slight problem remembering where everything left off and who everyone is.

Another thing that needs to be mentioned is that not every story in the book is equal. Some of the stories I really loved. Other stories, I was bored out of my mind. However, I will say that I mostly really liked and enjoyed this book. It was really the stories about the older vampires that were really tough to get through. I skimmed over Myrnin’s story, because I didn’t like it at all. I also had a really tough time getting through Amelie’s stories. I might just have butchered their names. Sorry, MV fans!

One thing that I really enjoyed about this collection of stories was how it really embraced stories from before the start of MV and during the beginning books. Those stories really made me remember how much I love the Morganville Vamps series and how much I enjoyed those four main characters. I also didn’t need a refresher for those stories. I remembered everything I needed to. I wasn’t confused at all!

On the bright side, for me, I didn’t read any free stories that Rachel Caine featured on her website or any of the stories in previous anthologies. So, all of these stories were 100% new to me. Some of you may have already read some of them, though. That being said, half of this book is completely new stories. So, if you’re feeling hesitant for that reason, just know that there is a huge chunk of new material in this book.

I’m usually not one for re-reading books or series. My TBR pile is larger than life at all times. I have library books, a ton of books in my room, Netgalley & Edelweiss books, plus review requests coming in daily. So, I never re-read books. I just don’t have the time. That being said, this book has made me want to re-read the Morganville Vampires series. And I will. I have every intention of re-reading this whole series this year. I just need to find the time for it. Not to mention that I never actually FINISHED Morganville. So, I have a ton to catch up on and to remember! I’ve very excited to reread this series & share all new reviews with you all!

OH! Another thing…I totally forgot to mention it. The romance between Shane & Claire and Michael & Eve was BEAUTIFUL in this book. I loved the opportunity to read those stories and to share in their romance. Some of those stories were SO CUTE! So worth it!

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. My only complaint was that some of the stories were difficult for me since I haven’t read the MV books in SO LONG. I also thought some of the stories could have been a little more entertaining. The majority of this book, though, was just like old times!

Pages: 512

Publication Date: March 1st, 2016

Publisher: NAL

Rating: [rating: 4]