Author Interview with Brenna Yovanoff

0
1446

26067507Waverly Camdenmar is perfect. She is straight As, most likely to take over the world. And she hasn’t slept in days. She spends her nights running until she can’t even think. Then the sun comes up, life goes on, and Waverly goes back to her perfectly hateful best friend, her perfectly dull classes, and the tiny, nagging suspicion that there’s more to life than student council and GPAs.

 

Marshall Holt is a loser. He drinks on school nights and gets stoned in the park. He is not even close to being in Waverly’s world. Until one night she falls asleep and dreams herself into his bedroom—and when the sun comes up, nothing in her life can ever be the same.

 

PLACES NO ONE KNOWS introduces readers to the dreamy love story of star-crossed teens Waverly Camdenmar and Marshall Holt. A contemporary Say Anything with the dreamlike, dark edges of Donnie Darko, and the acid humor of Heathers, PLACES NO ONE KNOWS is a sophisticated read that begs to be read and will appeal to fans of E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars and Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall.


 

Can you tell us about your upcoming book, Places No One Knows, in 40 words or less?

 

Waverly is a high-achieving, tightly-wound girl who never sleeps. Marshall is … not. When Waverly tries to hypnotize away her insomnia and winds up magically appearing in Marshall’s bedroom, they both face what it means to be truly seen.

 

What was your favorite scene to write?

 

Oh, man! This is so hard to talk about without a million spoilers, but any of the uncomfortable ones. I love uncomfortable things.  So if you’re reading along and find yourself thinking “Wow, this scene is making me really uncomfortable!” Whatever it is, that was my favorite scene to write.

 

What was the hardest scene to edit out?

 

There is a scene that I love. It was a scene that existed for four drafts, at about three quarters of the way through the book, and it’s not there anymore, and my editor was incredibly patient as she reminded me every single draft to take it out. Because she was 100% factually correct. But I still just wanted to see Waverly and Marshall snuggle in a baseball dugout.

 

What theme song would you give Places No Ones Knows?

 

Definitely “Palaces of Montezuma” by Grinderman. Definitely. (Particularly the Barry Adamson remix, which is very good.)

 

Series/Standalone/Companion?

 

Standalones all the way!

 

Are you working on anything else?

 

The book I’m writing currently is another standalone (surprise!), in the same vein as Places No One Knows, which means it’s got an element of magic, but it sways heavily contemporary. It’s about misanthropy, idealism, and the constant, daunting struggle of being your best self.

 

What is the best book you read recently?

 

Girl in Pieces, by Kathleen Glasgow. It’s not out til the end of August, but anyone who loves tough, realistic stories with beautiful writing needs to pick this up!

 

What is currently in your TBR pile?

Next up on my reading agenda are Illuminae, but Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, and The Nameless City, which is a graphic novel by Faith Erin Hicks, and I’m currently reading an adult novel called The Necromancer’s House, by Christopher Buehlman.


3023658My young adult fantasy novels The Replacement, The Space Between, Paper Valentine, and Fiendish are available from Razorbill/Penguin Group.

Here are some things about me (not book-related):

I’m good at soccer, violent video games, and making very flaky pie pastry.

I’m bad at dancing, making decisions, and inspiring confidence as an authority figure. I suspect this is because I am short, and also terrible at sounding as though I have any idea what I’m talking about.