Book Review: Spinning Starlight by R.C. Lewis

0
995

spinning starlight banne

spinning starlightAbout the Book

Title: SPINNING STARLIGHT

Author: R.C. Lewis

Release Date: October 6, 2015

Pages: 336

Publisher: Disney Hyperion

Formats: Hardcover, eBook

Find it: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks

Sixteen-year-old heiress and paparazzi darling Liddi Jantzen hates the spotlight. But as the only daughter in the most powerful tech family in the galaxy, it’s hard to escape it. So when a group of men show up at her house uninvited, she assumes it’s just the usual media-grubs. That is, until shots are fired. Liddi escapes, only to be pulled into an interplanetary conspiracy more complex than she ever could have imagined. Her older brothers have been caught as well, trapped in the conduits between the planets. And when their captor implants a device in Liddi’s vocal cords to monitor her speech, their lives are in her hands: One word and her brothers are dead. Desperate to save her family from a desolate future, Liddi travels to another world, where she meets the one person who might have the skills to help her bring her eight brothers home-a handsome dignitary named Tiav. But without her voice, Liddi must use every bit of her strength and wit to convince Tiav that her mission is true. With the tenuous balance of the planets deeply intertwined with her brothers’ survival, just how much is Liddi willing to sacrifice to bring them back? Haunting and mesmerizing, this retelling of Hans Christian Andersen’sThe Wild Swans strings the heart of the classic with a stunning, imaginative world as a star-crossed family fights for survival in this companion to Stitching Snow.

 

 

About R.C.:

unnamed

R.C. Lewis teaches math to teenagers—sometimes in sign language, sometimes not—so whether she’s a science geek or a bookworm depends on when you look. That may explain why her characters don’t like to be pigeonholed. Coincidentally, R.C. enjoys reading about quantum physics and the identity issues of photons.

 

Website | Twitter |Facebook | Instagram| Goodreads | Tumblr

 

Giveaway Details:

 

1 winner will receive a signed finished copies of STITCHING SNOW & SPINNING STARLIGHT. US Only.

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week One:
9/28/2015- Fangirlish- Interview
9/29/2015- A Backwards Story- Review
9/30/2015- Supernatural Snark- Guest Post
10/1/2015- YaReads- Review
10/2/2015- Two Chicks on Books- Interview

Week Two:
10/5/2015- Pandora’s Books- Review
10/6/2015- Bookhounds ya- Guest Post
10/7/2015- Just Commonly- Review
10/8/2015- Mundie Moms- Interview
10/9/2015- Please Feed The Bookworm- Review

 

My Review:

I was instantly drawn to this book as soon as I saw who the author was. I first worked with R.C Lewis during the 2014 debut authors bash. I’ll be honest, I have a soft spot for all of my debut authors, and I’m always interested in reading their books! The fact that Spinning Starlight is a companion novel to Stitching Snow was just another perk. That’s right, this is a companion! So, you don’t have to read them in order. And if you haven’t even heard of this series, yet, then you now have two awesome books to read!

What I love about this book is how high-tech it is. There’s so much technology and out of world experiences in this book, and I think that will be a huge hit for readers (especially sci-fi and dystopia lovers!) I will admit that I was a little confused in some parts over what was what and who was who and what was going on. Part of that was probably my own problem, because I’m just not very used to reading sci-fi. However, I did really appreciate the implementation of new technology and a broad range of technological concepts relating to other worlds and discoveries.

One thing that bothered me a little bit was that Liddi couldn’t speak because of the device in her throat that would kill her brothers if she spoke one word. For me, personally, I need a lot of interactions in my books. I’ve read a couple books where the main character isn’t able to talk, and it bothers me every single time. On the other hand,  I thought that it was really cool to witness Liddi learn how to write and interact with a whole different culture than she was accustomed to. The author made it seem so real while I was reading about it. I had a complete visual in my head of what was occurring during each scene.

I’m going to be the first one to raise my hand and admit that I absolutely despise fairy tale retellings. When I started reading this book, I must have skimmed over the fact that this is a retelling of Hans Christian Andersen’s The Wild Swans. Let me tell you right now, that I had no idea this was  a fairy tale retelling until I read the synopsis while creating this post. If you’re not sure about that statement, that’s a huge compliment coming from me. The author made this book her own. I didn’t feel in any way that this was a knock off or a cheap recreation. I loved that I had no idea that this was a retelling and that the author made it her own.

I would definitely recommend this book to sci fi and dystopia lovers. If you haven’t read the first book, then make a date of it and pick both of them up! I think that readers are going to be extremely impressed with the high tech gadgets that this book incorporates into the plot.

 

Check out R.C. Lewis’ 2014 debut authors bash stop HERE